

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Thomas R. Bice State Superintendent of Education

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 7, 2014

CONTACT: Communication 334-242-9950 comm@alsde.edu

"SWEET 16" FINALISTS SELECTED FOR ALABAMA TEACHER OF THE YEAR

Judges Prepare to Narrow Roster Down to the "Final Four"

Montgomery, AL — The "Sweet 16" have emerged from a pool of over 150 outstanding educators from across the state who submitted applications for the Alabama Teacher of the Year Program, one of the oldest and most prestigious award programs for teachers. The field will soon be narrowed down to the "Final Four," and the 2014-2015 Teacher of Year will be announced at a ceremony hosted by the Alabama State Board of Education and the Alabama State Department of Education on Wednesday, May 14, 2014, at 6 p.m. at the RSA Plaza Terrace.

"Alabama continues to be represented with some of the most outstanding educators in the nation," said State Superintendent of Education Tommy Bice. "Their dedication to education, commitment to learning and compassion are reflected in the accomplishments of their students. We are proud to have teachers of this caliber working in our schools."

Speaking on her experiences as a previous finalist and as Alabama's current Teacher of the Year, Dr. Alison Grizzle, said, "These 16 distinguished teachers represent the hard-working, talented, and passionate teachers around the state who dedicate themselves on a daily basis to the students of Alabama. Serving as the 2013-2014 Alabama Teacher of the Year has been a rewarding experience, and I have been afforded the great opportunity to visit multiple classrooms around the state and witness teachers engaging students in high-level learning experiences."

"Being Alabama Teacher of the Year has granted me the privilege to forge relationships and collaborative partnerships with stakeholders and educational leaders both throughout the state of Alabama and the country," Grizzle added. "I have seen the transformative power that can occur with purposeful partnerships among education, business, and community leaders. This is truly an honor. Congratulations to the Sweet 16!"

Alabama's Teacher of the Year spends the majority of the school year serving as a full-time ambassador for education and the teaching profession as well as presenting workshops to various groups. Additionally, Alabama's representative is a candidate for the National Teacher of the Year.

An elementary and secondary teacher was named from each of the eight Alabama State Board of Education districts in March. Local board of education members, a local superintendent or representative, the current district Teachers of the Year, and a representative from higher education served as committee members in selecting nominees.

Alabama State Board of Education

> Governor Robert Bentley President

Tracy T. Roberts District I

> Betty Peters District II

Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV

Ella B. Bell District V President Pro Tem

Charles E. Elliott, M.D. District VI Vice President

> Jeff Newman District VII

Mary Scott Hunter, J.D. District VIII

Thomas R. Bice, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer

-more-

<u>Alabama Teacher of the Year Program</u> <u>2014-2015 District Teachers of the Year</u>

Elementary

District	Name	School	System
I	Katie Nettles	Gulf Shores Elementary	Baldwin County
II	Kelly Jo Hollingsworth	Cary Woods Elementary	Auburn City
III	Ellen Anson	Rocky Ridge Elementary	Hoover City
IV	Lisa M. Burgess	Westwood Elementary	Tuscaloosa County
V	Denise Nelson	Wilson Elementary	Montgomery County
VI	Deborah Hill	Locust Fork Elementary	Blount County
VII	Ann Marie Corgill	Cherokee Bend Elementary	Mountain Brook City
VIII	Shane Leopard	Brookhill Elementary	Athens City

Secondary

District	Name	School	System
I	Susanne Mahone	Daphne High	Baldwin County
II	Christopher D. Payne	Dothan High	Dothan City
III	Craig Thompson	Spain Park High	Hoover City
IV	Chasidy White	Brookwood Middle	Tuscaloosa County
V	Rachel D. Dudley	Booker T. Washington Magnet High	Montgomery County
VI	Jackie Kelley	Wellborn High	Calhoun County
VII	Carrie B. Jones	Hewitt Trussville High	Trussville City
VIII	Dr. Donny Matthew Dean	Buckhorn High	Madison County